Become a CLA Member

join iconBecome a member of CLA. Download, fill out and mail the PDF form on the Membership page or fill out our online form

John Brubaker Award

The Executive Board of the Catholic Library Association established the John Brubaker Award (plaque and citation) in 1978 to recognize an outstanding work of literary merit, considered on the basis of its significant interest to the library profession which was published in Catholic Library World, the official journal of the Association.

The memorial award honors John Brubaker who served CLA as advertising representative for CLW for over twenty years until his death in 1977. A panel of judges selects the winning article from the volume of CLW previous to the year of the annual convention.

The first Brubaker award was presented at the 58th annual CLA Convention in Philadelphia, April 18, 1979. The winning article must be precise in its writing, free of ambiguity, orderly in its presentation of ideas, economical in expression, smooth in its presentation, considerate of its readers, original, and stimulating. Any author is eligible for consideration.

Past John Brubaker Award Winners

2015: Patrick J. Hayes

For his article, New Advances in Franciscan Studies: Gaining on the Poor Man of Assisi, which appeared in the September 2013 (vol. 84, no. 1) issue of Catholic Library World

2014: Tatiana Nikolova-Houston

For her two articles on Slavic Medieval Manuscripts. Part I: Origins, Preservation, and Access, which appeared in Catholic Library World, vol. 83, no. 1 (September 2012) and Part II: Historical, Archival, and Aesthetical Value and Visibility, which was published in vol. 83, no. 2 (December 2012).

2013 Leslie Woodcock Tentler   

For her article, A Decidedly Personal Look at the Field: American Catholic History Today which appeared in the March 2012 issue of Catholic Library World

2012 Donald Beagle

For his article, Integrating Digital and Archival Sources in Historical Research: Recovering Lost Knowledge About a Catholic Poet of the Civil War, which appeared in the March 2011 issue of Catholic Library World.

2011 Fernando Perrone

For her article, Whose History Is It? Doing Research in the Archives of Women's Religious Communities, which appeared in vol. 80, No. 1 (September 2009) of Catholic Library World.

2010 Paul M. Pearson 

For his article, Thomas Merton, Archivist which appeared in the December 2008 issue of CLW.

2009 Margaret M. McGuiness

For her article, American Catholic Studies: The Field and the Journal which appeared in the September 2007 issue of CLW.

2008 Carmine J. Bell

For her article, Libraries and Human Rights Education which appeared in the December 2006 issue of CLW.

2007 Malachy R. McCarthy

For his article, Navigating the Labyrinth: Understanding and Getting the Most from Catholic Archives, which appeared in the December 2005 issue of CLW.

2006 Vincent P. Tinerella

For his article, The American Catholic Effort to Preserve European Manuscript Collections after World War II, which appeared in the March 2005 issue of CLW.

2005 Helge Clausen

For his article, Miss d’Auchamp, the Catholic Library Association and Niels Steensen’s Library in Copenhagen, which appeared in the December 2003 issue of CLW.

2004 Herman A. Tavani

For his article, Information Wants to Be Shared: An Alternative Framework for Approaching Intellectual Property Disputes in an Information Age, which appeared in the December 2002 issue of CLW.

2003 Kathleen de la Peña McCook

For her article, Social Justice, Personalism, and the Practice of Librarianship, which appeared in the December 2001 issue of CLW.

2002 Brendan A. Rapple

For his article, The Learning Library, which appeared in the June 2001 issue of CLW.

2001 Reverend Thomas J. Shelley

For his article, Whatever Happened to Church History which appeared in the December 1999 issue of CLW.

2000 Ronald Patkus

For his article, Creating a Digital Archive of the Pre-Vatican Church in America, which appeared in the March 1999 issue of CLW.

1999 Patrick Metress

For his article, Indexing and Abstracting Catholic Periodicals, which appeared in the June 1998 issue of CLW.

1998 William Brace

For his article, The Changing World of Government Documents, which appeared in the December 1996 issue of CLW.

1997 Michael T. Krieger

For his article, Developing a Collection for Name Authority Work in Catholic Literature, which appeared in the September 1995 issue of CLW.

1996 Violet H. Harada and Margaret Nakamura

For their article, Information Searching Across the Curriculum: Literacy Skills for the 90’s and Beyond, which appeared in the October-December 1994 issue of CLW.

1992 Sheila S. Intner

For her article, The Technical Services: the Future is Now, the Future is Us, which appeared in the May-June 1991 issue of CLW.

1991 Mary E. Gallagher, SSJ

For her article, Daring Advocates, Formidable Adversaries, which appeared in the September-October 1989 issue of CLW.

1990 Maryilyn Berg Iarusso

For her article, How to Promote the Love of Reading, which appeared in the March-April 1989 issue of CLW.

1989 Maureen Kennedy, OP

For her article, Resourcing the Emerging Laity, which appeared in the July-August 1987 issue of CLW.

1988 Roy M. Gasnick, OFM

For his article, Ministry of the Word which appeared in the July-August 1986 issue of CLW.

1987 Margaret E. Chisholm

For her article, The Librarian As Educator, which appeared in the November-December 1985 issue of CLW.

1986 Milton Meltzer

For his article, Freedom and Peace: A Challenge, which appeared in the July-August 1984 issue of CLW.

1985 Melvin R. George

For his article, The Impact of Technology on Libraries, which appeared in the February 1984 issue of CLW.

1984 R. Brantley Cagle, Jr.

For his article, Reference Services to the Developmentally Disabled: Normalization of Access, which appeared in the February 1983 issue of CLW.

1983 Carolyn Harris

For her article, Brittle Books: A Way of Life, which appeared in the March 1982 issue of CLW.

1982 Henry Drennan

For his article, Libraries and Literacy Education, which appeared in the April 1981 issue of CLW.

1981 F. Wilfred Lancaster

For his article, The Future of the Librarian Lies Outside the Library, which appeared in the April 1980 issue of CLW.

1980 Lillian B. Wehmeyer

For her article, Media and Learning – Present and Future, which appeared in the November-December 1978 issue of CLW.

1979 Mary Margrabe

For her article, The Library Media Specialist and Total Curriculum Involvement, which appeared in the February 1978 issue of CLW.



SanDiego2016 sm2







  2016 CLA Convention
Schedule Coming Soon!